The Worst Snowstorm In History?

Article by Wendy McCance

I don’t know about you, but here in Michigan we are getting ready for a major snowstorm.  8-10 inches of snow are predicted along with temps in the minuses.  It is supposed to be such a big snowstorm that we are already hearing rumors that the schools will be closed Monday and Tuesday.

We have relatives in Canada and around the United States who are also bracing for a big snow event.

The reason for the over the top warnings?  In some states, historic lows in temps are predicted.  Minus 60 degrees when the wind chill is factored in is something I can’t even wrap my head around.

I got lucky.  Yesterday, before I had even heard of what was heading our way, I had gone out grocery shopping, filled my car with gas and even picked up a few books at the local bookstore. When I got home and heard the news, I did a little happy dance.  It felt so good to be prepared and not in need of running out to get ready for the storm.

Facebook has been busy with activity today.  People are talking about what they are doing to prepare for the storm.  I heard from my mom, and then got confirmation from others on Facebook that the big chains like Meijers and Krogers were a madhouse.  People waiting in lines to check out and the wait is over an hour.  Shelves that are nearly empty and produce aisles that have been wiped out.  Good lord this is going to be big!

As for being home through the storm, I am a homebody as it is.  Throw in a storm that keeps you a little housebound and I am in love.  The kids seem excited about the storm as well.  With a stocked fridge, endless books to read, movies to watch and a crock pot ready to work for our meals, we are snuggled in and ready.  We even have wood for a fire in case we need a little extra warmth.

So what about you?  Are you in an area that is going to be hit by this storm?  How do you feel about a few snow days where you are stuck at home?  Do you embrace these moments or dread them?  Leave a comment, I’d love to know your thoughts on this topic.

About wmccance

Freelance writer and social media consultant.
This entry was posted in family, life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The Worst Snowstorm In History?

  1. Pat says:

    We got snow the end of last week and it’s still on the ground. You’re getting what passed through us here in Colorado, though much worse it sounds like. Take care, be careful and stay warm. :-)

    • wmccance says:

      Pat, I just heard on the news that those poor people in New York will be getting something much worse than us. 3-4 feet of snow with snow coming down at 3 inches an hour. How the heck do you get on top of that much snow? Where do you put it when you shovel? I hope the estimation is way off.

  2. I have 2 The 1st where I grew up in Brookline, MA The Blizzard of 1978 & many years later in the least expected place. Baltimore, MD 2010 in February. I had gotten the 1st warning from my body about the painful trip I am still dealing with in November of 09′, On 1/25/10 I got hit by a car. To make things worse we had the blizzard 2/10. I was trapped in the house alone because my Scum lord who I took care of in 1/12 which was great fun.Now with 2014 with it really seeming like winter.
    I believe the storm that you are getting passed by hear & I am enjoying it.

  3. Hi Wendy, nice post! I’m originally from the Midwest and have lived in several cold weather states, but currently live in AZ where the average temp is 72 degrees this time of year, no chance of snow. I miss the change of seasons. Like you, I’m a homebody and nothing’s better than snuggling up with hot cocoa and a good book or old movie when you’re snowed in. Have you noticed how, under layers of fresh white snow, everything is a little quieter, a little slower? It’s a great time to take a little breather from this fast paced world. So long as you and yours are safe, enjoy the stormy weather!

    • wmccance says:

      Thanks so much for your comment Johanna. I do love how quiet it gets when it snows. It’s a different type of peace than what is felt the rest of the year. Have to love those 72 degree temps though. :)

  4. Donnetta Carol says:

    Hi Wendy…you have given good advice. I live here in Alaska and that type of weather is “normal” here. We deal with “the unpredictable” constantly. We have had below temps quite a few times already this year. Winds are bad…as the temps “go up” we get hammered with snow. My best advice is to make sure that you have “back up” on all your utilities. If you “depend” on the electric company, the gas company, the water utility…ONLY…you are setting yourself up for trouble. Make sure you have candles/kerosene lanterns, flash lights/batteries if the electric goes out. If you have a home that is ALL electric including your heat (electric ignited gas too), have a small portable heat source with fuel as “back up”. If your electric goes out for too long a period, make use of the cold temps outside for refrigeration. Before my husband passed away, we lived on a glacier river. We had cabins, wood heat, candle light, and our fridge was an ice house. (ice cut from the frozen river). We had a portable water tank, that filtered water through the top into the bottom for our drinking water source. We lived like this on a daily basis, and it was a way of life. We taught our kids, NOT TO DEPEND on the grid system. Yes…it’s great to have the conveniency, but don’t become too comfortable with it. It’s not a matter “if” the grid will go down…it’s a matter of “when”. PLEASE keep that in mind. I am now living in town and although I live in a home with all the “basics” now, I have a “back up plan”. Sorry this was so drawn out! Take care Wendy and I will pray for the best in the lower 48.
    Donny in Alaska :)

    • wmccance says:

      Thanks so much for sharing your experience. I think it’s fantastic that you have taught your kids so many necessary skills. It is so easy to get used to and depend on the grid.

      Back in the early 2000’s, our electricity went out for a few days. I’m talking about the whole grid going down in several states. That’s when things really got real fast. It was a scary wakeup call for sure.

      Take care and I hope you have a wonderful 2014.

  5. Jenn Twilley says:

    My state goes bizerk! It may or may not snow tonight. If it does it will likely be only an inch or two. The stores were crazy. In the past 5 years, we’ve only had a few snows over 8 inches, but because Oklahoma doesn’t get that bad of weather that often, it can completely shut the state down. If I’ve gone grocery shopping, and the bills are paid, I’m totally fine with being stuck inside. It’s when it’s between paydays, Hubs is out of town, and bills aren’t totally done. Being showed in means I can’t get to work, so I can stress a bit with that. Otherwise, being snuggled up with my baby for hours on end is wonderful!

    • wmccance says:

      I can understand. Maybe a day off work might be okay, but when those days add up, it can be extremely stressful. It’s going to be interesting to see how this storm pans out. Thanks so much for your comment.

Leave a Reply

