What I’ve Learned This Year

Article by Wendy McCance

2013 has been one of the most difficult and the most successful years I have ever had.  I have been astounded by the way I was able to turn my life around and see my dreams come true.  If you have ever felt like you cannot get out of the hole you are in, read on.

2009-2012 My husband and I lost our jobs, our home, our rental property, our life savings and I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia.  We were barely scraping by with 3 kids and not much of a college education between us.

My worst moment was when I realized I couldn’t work at a traditional job anymore. Fibromyalgia made my life extremely hard to deal with.  I was in horrible pain and exhausted daily.  My job suffered greatly and the stress of trying to hold onto my job made my symptoms worse.  In Jan. 2012 I became a work from home mom.  I had no job, and was desperate for an income.  I decided to go after my dream of becoming a writer.  I had hit bottom so I had nothing to lose.

2013 I worked day and night on putting a blog together and learning everything I could about being a writer.  If I was tired, I took a nap.  If I was in pain, I could lay in bed with my laptop and keep working.  I was desperate to turn my life around and I had 3 kids and a husband who was already working long hours.  They all needed me to bring in some sort of an income.  Just enough at least to make ends meet.

My hard work paid off and I began getting noticed.  I got job offers, figured out how to prospect for business and saw my life change before my eyes.

It is the last day of 2013.  I make more money than I did at any traditional job I could find after I lost my job at the auto plant.  I make my own hours, sleep when I need to and love what I do.  My dream came true.

My point is that I understand being up against the wall and feeling like you have no options.  I refused to give in and let our family become any more damaged from a series of bad situations.  I realized that I had nothing to lose by going after my dream because I knew what hitting bottom felt like.  I persevered and it paid off.

My wish for you going into this new year is that you look fear in the face and demand better for yourself.  If you want to see your dream realized and can remain determined, magical things can and will happen.

Wishing you the very best in 2014!!

About wmccance

Freelance writer and social media consultant. learn more at: www.wendymccance.com
This entry was posted in career, family, life, self-help and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What I’ve Learned This Year

  1. What an inspiring story! Wishing you and yours all the best in 2014!

Leave a Reply

