When You Are On the Right Path, You’ll Know It

Article by Wendy McCance

I’ve heard this advice about relationships, you know, when someone says,”when you meet the right person to marry, you’ll know it.”  Well, I have never “known it,” but I have felt that my choice in a husband was a darn good fit.

Anyway, the same principle can be applied to your career.  That dream people have of loving a job so much you can’t wait to work each day.  That dream can seriously become a reality, I know because it happened to me.

It took until I was in my mid 40’s to hit on that job that I was meant to have, but it did happen.  I am a writer.  The course I took to get where I am was filled with a lot of pain and fear.  I do believe that sometimes you need to strip away all aspects of comfort for the most authentic results to appear and give you the answers that you need.

It’s in those moments where you have hit bottom and can’t do any worse that you may as well try for the dream.  Why not?  There is absolutely NOTHING left to lose.

So, I became a writer and have moments of clarification that show I am doing what I am meant to do almost daily.  Today is New Years Day.  I have been working since 8:30 am. The last few days have made me feel antsy.  The holidays become a time of shutdown from work.  I have found bits and pieces of things to do during this enforced shutdown.  Now that we are ramping up for the new year, I can’t wait to be busy all day long again.

I never thought I would ever be excited to be working.  It just seemed to be a mandatory part of being a grown up.  I would rather spend my time having a say over when I worked, what I did and how I did it.  I wanted a job where I would be doing the same things even if I wasn’t getting paid.  Writing fit my needs perfectly.

So, here I am typing away, thrilled that a new year has gotten underway and that I can get back to the business of being a writer.

When you are on the right path, you will just know it.  Each day you will wake up excited to being your job.  Each night you will want to work just a little bit longer.  The best part is, you will love every minute of your job.  Sure there will be some stressful times, but it will still please you to know that you would never dream of doing anything else.

About wmccance

Freelance writer and social media consultant. learn more at: www.wendymccance.com
This entry was posted in career, life, self-help and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to When You Are On the Right Path, You’ll Know It

  1. Pat says:

    I’m so happy for you, Wendy. You’ve earned it — all your hard work is paying off giving you that satisfaction that you are where you are meant to be. I think I’m getting a little closer to my dream work. The New Year 2014 feels like this will be the one.

    Happy New Year and hope you and your family had a good celebration. Hugs and hope all good things come to you and your dreams are fulfilled.

Leave a Reply

