The Challenges of Juggling Work and Family Life

Article by Wendy McCance

I am a work from home mom.  I have 3 kids and my own business as a writer and social media consultant.  I remember looking forward to the beginning of the school year to get more work done on a daily basis.  Boy was I mistaken about what I would be able to juggle.

I should mention up front that my husband’s job has gotten more challenging for the family dynamics as a whole.  He has been travelling quite a bit for work which has put a major crimp in the overall flow of how we have been running the household.

With my husband gone at least one week a month if not several, I have realized quickly how very much I depend on my husband to help out around the house and do some of the driving.

I have a full-time job of my own to attend to.  The stress of so much time away from the family as well as the stress it has put on me to take on all of the household responsibilities has put my husband in a position where he is looking for a job that doesn’t require much if any travel.

In the meantime, I am juggling school schedules, after school activities and doctor appointments on my own.

A typical week has been looking like this:

Monday: Drive 1 kid to and from school.
Drive 2nd kid back and forth to a different school.
After school dentist app. for 2 kids with braces.
Make dinner.
Help with homework.
Tuck in kids at bedtime.

Facebook and Twitter maintenance for a client.
1 article 1,000 words.
Write to 30 prospects for work assignments.
2 blog posts.
Answer emails.
Post to my social networks.

Tuesday:  Drive 1 kid to and from school.
Make dinner.
Evening Basketball practice.
Help with homework.
Tuck in kids at bedtime.

2 blog posts.
Write to 30 prospects for work assignments.
Conference call.
Answer emails.
Post to my social networks.

Wednesday:  Drive 1 kid to and from school.
After school counseling app.
Make dinner.
Help with homework.
Tuck in kids at bedtime.

Facebook and Twitter maintenance for a client.
2 blog posts.
Write to 30 prospects about writing assignments.
Meet with client for social media consulting.
Answer emails.
Post to my social networks.

Thursday:  Drive 1 kid to and from school.
Drive 2nd kid back and forth to school.
Evening dance class.

Write 1,000 word article.
2 blog posts.
Write to 30 prospects about writing assignments.
Read and research.
Post to my social networks.
Answer emails.

Friday:  Drive 1 kid back and forth to school.
Grocery shopping.
Kids getting together with friends.

Twitter and Facebook Maintenance for a client.
blog posts.
Write to 30 prospects about writing assignments.
Post to my social networks.
Answer emails.
Write up a product review and post thoughts on product to social networking sites.
Conference call.

Saturday:  Drive 1 kid back and forth to a weekend class.
Clean the house.
Kids getting together with friends.

2 blog posts.
Answer emails.
Post to social networks.
Paperwork, filing, write in business expenses/mileage.

Sunday:  Baseball practice.

2 blog posts.
Answer emails.
Post to social networks.

This schedule doesn’t include the press releases, sell sheets, LinkedIn profiles etc… I will do.  I just did a bare bones schedule of what I have guaranteed each week.

Now picture my husband out of town and you get the idea.  It’s hectic to say the least.  Did I mention I have 3 pets to take care of (2 cats and a ferret) as well as fibromyalgia?

The point is not to write up a poor me article, but to bring light to what so many parents really do behind the scenes.  For many, juggling is much more difficult because it is a single parent taking on the workload.

I often wonder how people juggle work and family when there is an aging parent that resides with the family, or a child with health issues of their own.  What about the families that have dealt with the loss of a job and now work two jobs to support the family?

Can you relate to this topic?  What have you experienced that challenged your use of time between work and family?  Have you found a way to ease some of the pressure of time management?  Leave a comment and share your thoughts on this subject. Let’s get the conversation going.

 

About wmccance

Freelance writer and social media consultant. learn more at: www.wendymccance.com
This entry was posted in career, children, family and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Challenges of Juggling Work and Family Life

  1. Pingback: Give Me A Break | My Everyday Psychology

  2. farquag says:

    I would say be glad you work from home so you can even begin to think about doing all of these activities. Could you imagine if you worked in an office with a commute? My wife works part time, and I am a full time employee who works from home, and that is still challenging. My best time management decision was to build in time for the inevitable family errands each day. You know it is going to happen, so plan for it. For me it is typically first thing in the morning when I have more flexibility at work. More info here:
    http://14stepcommute.wordpress.com

    • wmccance says:

      Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts. For quite awhile, I was a single parent working on 3rd shift in a truck plant. My parents were instrumental in helping me juggle it all. Basically the kids were with them while I was at work. In some ways it was easier then because I had the extra hands helping out.

Leave a Reply

